Six Groups Successful at First Community Fund Event

Date Released - 18/05/2023

SIX groups shared almost £10,000 when the Tameside Community Inspiration and Innovation Fund held its north neighbourhood (Ashton) grant event on May 16

The Civic Mayor and Mayoress, Cllr Mike Glover and Mrs Anne Gordon, and Cllr Vimal Choksi, the council’s executive member for towns and communities, were among the 50 people who gathered at St John’s Church, Hurst, for the meeting which was organised by Tameside Community Safety.

All the applicants gave a short presentation about their project, after which the audience voted to decide which of them should receive grants.

The winners were: Making a Difference Tameside £757 (personal skills development training), Oasis Broadoak Community Hub £1,706 (Oasis Bloom Community Garden), Phantasmagoria Community Interest Company £2,000 (Shout Out About It), St Gabriel’s, Cockbrook, £1,500 (Safer, Stronger and Happier Together in the Community), St John’s, Hurst, £1,737 (St John’s Greener, Fitter and Days Gone By) and Tameside Sea Cadets £1,958 (theory and practical boating training).

Cllr Choksi said: “It was inspiring to see so many groups present their bids. All the volunteers spoke very well and were clearly passionate about the valuable work they are doing. The atmosphere was extremely positive.

“All in all it was a super evening which brought together a lot of people who have the common goal of wanting to help their community. I’m sure the remaining three events will be equally successful and look forward to attending them.

“I would also like to thank Life Line Community Ambulance and First Aid who offered their services free of charge.”

To qualify for grants, the groups and charities needed a project based around one or more of four themes: Keeping people safe, preventing and reducing youth anti-social behaviour, strengthening communities through green spaces, supporting poverty and vulnerability.

Further meetings will follow in Tameside’s other three neighbourhoods: East (Dukinfield, Mossley and Stalybridge), South (Hattersley, Hyde and Longdendale) and West (Audenshaw, Denton and Droylsden).